Canada is a heaven for veggies. No matter where you eat, which cuisine you try, you will definitely find some good delicious veggie options. It means a lot for an individual like me who does not eat fish, meat, chicken and eggs. I had some really hard time in other countries where I literally survived on fries but in Canada, eating out is fun for me.

I love Hakka Chinese and ‘Dumplings’ are my weakness. It’s not deep blue eyes or an honest sparkling smile but veggie dumplings that make me go weak in my knees. I am ‘PO, of the movie Kung Fu Panda’, who just loves his dumplings.

Toronto has some really nice Chinese restaurants but finding the right veggie dumplings, also known as Dim-Sums and Momos had become a challenge for me in Toronto too. My husband would gorge on chicken dumplings and I would be green with envy –LADY SHREK, you can say!!

But my last week’s visit to a place called ‘Asian Legend’ in Chinatown, Toronto has turned me from Lady Shrek to Cinderella for sure. Asian Legend is a Northern Chinese restaurant that serves delicious ‘Steamed Vegetarian Dumplings’. They even have ‘Pan Fried Vegetarian Dumplings’. Dumplings are served with some vinaigrette and are soft, juicy and steamed to perfection. The best thing I liked was that the filling of the dumpling was cooked and fresh- can still savour the taste in my mouth!!

Restaurant is clean with nice atmosphere. Most of the servers are Chinese with a good menu spread- speaks for the authenticity of the place. Food is served quickly. 6 dumplings of good size for $6.99 is definitely a good deal.

When in Toronto, do eat dumplings in Asian Legend.

Bon Appetite!!!

 

Asian Legend: 418 Dundas Street West, Toronto, M5T 1G2 (restaurant is located in other places also- Markham, Vaughan, Thornhill, North York, Scarborough, St. Catharines)

