We all travel , go on vacations to not only relax ourselves but also to experience new place, its beauty, culture and cuisine. But moment our vacation ends, that experience gets limited to pictures, souvenirs and fond memories – all of which eventually fades and lost in folders!!

But, a friend of mine has a very different take on her travel plans. Wherever she travels, she makes it a point to learn something new – something which is unique to that place- something which that place is known for – maybe a dish or a craft or an art…

Her reasoning is simple – Life is a continuous journey of learnings. And I want each and every place that I visit to, become part of my everyday life!!

I have been ridiculing her over the years for this but deep in my heart, I wanted to try it.

So, on my visit to Melbourne, I searched and searched for some unique workshop – finally I came across STREET ART STENCIL WORKSHOP. It appeared to be very different- had heard of nothing of this sort in my home country. I mustered the courage and booked for the workshop.

Boy!! How glad I am today, for going to that workshop. Workshop was conducted by one of Melbourne’s most prominent street art artists. Under the guidance of professional street art artists, we were taught how to create a stencil from our design, how to use different spray painting techniques and finally we designed and cut our very own stencil work that we sprayed on the canvas. Stencil work as well as art work both can be taken home.

All the materials like spray paints, cutting knives and safety equipment’s (gloves, aprons) are provided by the workshop organizers.

A light morning tea is also provided.

Class Size: Minimum 3 and Maximum 12 people

Location: All workshops are held at Blender Studios, 110 Franklin St. Melbourne 3000

Cost: $89/person

Timing: 10am-12:30pm

Availability: Every second Saturday. Workshop bookings are limited and taken on first come first serve basis. Book in advance by calling: 03 9328 5556 // 0416 971 708

Since the workshop was of only 2.5 hrs, I not only learnt something new but had ample time to explore the city for the rest of the day.

A very different form of art which can be learnt in Melbourne. Book yourself for the workshop.

Today when I see graffiti adorning the public walls, the devil inside me smiles and instigates me to experiment …..

